Middlesbrough 1-1 Millwall, Championship: quick-fire match report


Middlesbrough 4-2-3-1



Millwall 4-4-1-1

Half Time: 0 - 1 Riverside Stadium ( Attendance: 21,915 (391) )
1 min

A 90th-minute Middlesbrough penalty denied Millwall all three points in an impressive 1-1 draw at the Riverside Stadium.

Dominating for large periods, Jed Wallace opened the scoring for the Lions in the 22nd minute, finishing off a slick counter-attacking move.

And Neil Harris’ men seemed on course for a well-deserved victory before Steve Morison fouled Daniel Ayala in the box with Jordan Hugill dispatching the resultant penalty.

Millwall dominated the opening 45 minutes and should have been in front as early as the tenth when Boro keeper Darren Randolph had to be alert to Lee Gregory’s close range effort.

Gregory was also influential in his side’s opener – slipping a pass through to Wallace who fired a crisp low effort beyond Randolph to break the deadlock.

The second-half saw more intensity from the hosts with Rajiv van La Parra and Lewis Wing forcing Lions keeper Archer into good saves before Hugill equalised late on.

The result leaves sees Middlesbrough remain in fifth while Millwall move up to 19th – six points clear of the bottom three.

Key Points

Check out all the key talking points and reaction from London Football Scene below…

Tweet of the Match

Line Ups

Middlesbrough 4-2-3-1

Randolph; Fry, Ayala, Batth, Friend; Clayton (van La Parra, 45), Besic (Downing, 69); Howson (Assombalonga, 61), Wing, Saville; Hugill

Subs not used:

Konstantopoulos, McNair, Fletcher, Flint


Ayala, Batth, Howson

Millwall 4-4-1-1

Archer; Romeo, Hutchinson, Cooper, M. Wallace; J. Wallace (O’Brien, 88) Williams, Leonard, Marshall (Ferguson, 73); Thompson; Gregory (Morison, 81)

Subs not used:

Onyedinma, Pearce, Martin, Tunnicliffe



Hire Us

Like what we do? Get in touch and see what we can do for you!

Support Us on Patreon

Find out more about us here and if you like our articles please check out our Patreon page.